Skip to main content



Child-Maltreatment-Research-L (CMRL) List Serve

Browse or Search All Past CMRL Messages

Welcome to the database of past Child-Maltreatment-Research-L (CMRL) list serve messages (10,000+). The table below contains all past CMRL messages (text only, no attachments) from Nov. 20, 1996 - August 4, 2022 and is updated quarterly.

Instructions: Postings are listed for browsing with the newest messages first. Click on the linked ID number to see a message. You can search the author, subject, message ID, and message content fields by entering your criteria into this search box:

Message ID: 10923
Date: 2021-05-21

Author:Cathleen Palm

Subject:RE: Expunging child abuse record of a minor parent

Hello, Lisa. Here in Pennsylvania we worked, with intention, to address the issue of minors being placed on a registry as our state navigated the response to the serial sexual assaults perpetrated by Gerald Sandusky. Woven into our statute (Title 23, § 6338.1. Expunction of information of perpetrator who was under 18 years of age when child abuse was committed) is specific direction re: expunging the record of a young person who was placed on the registry named as a perpetrator of an indicated report (meaning there was a finding based on the child welfare investigation, medical evidence or a person's admission as opposed to a judicial finding/adjudication). Basically if the young person was under 18 when placed on the registry they then can have their record automatically expunged from the protective services database/registry when they reach the age of 21 "or when five years have elapsed" since the person was added to the database/registry. There are some conditions (i.e., not named as an alleged perpetrator in a pending investigation, not named as a perpetrator in a subsequent report, the offense that led to inclusion on the registry/database didn't involve a deadly weapon, or some serious crimes or adjudication within the juvenile system involving offenses against people, also can't apply if the young person recognized for registration related to a sexual offense requiring some registration). https://www.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/LI/CT/PDF/23/23.PDF Not suggesting it is ideal or spot on, but there was some effort to really recognize the need for some pathway off/beyond the registry for young people. Currently, we are having a similar discussion but related to adults and some tiered approach. Take care, Cathleen Cathleen Palm (she/her/hers) The Center for Children's Justice (C4CJ) www.C4CJ.org 717-215-1440 https://www.facebook.com/centerForChildrensJustice/ https://www.instagram.com/speakup4pakids/ https://twitter.com/speakup4PAkids -----Original Message----- From: bounce-125653652-13606222@list.cornell.edu On Behalf Of Lisa Fontes Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2021 8:21 PM To: 'child-maltreatment-research-L ' Subject: Expunging child abuse record of a minor parent Dear colleagues, I am asking for a colleague who is the GAL for a case where a 15 year old abused her young daughter. If CPS substantiates the abuse, she will never be able to work in nursing, childcare, etc, even though she is amenable to learning to become a better mother. Are any of you aware of a state where minor parents can have child abuse records expunged when they turn 18 or 21? Or do you know where to find such info? Thank you. Lisa Fontes PhD.

Hello, Lisa. Here in Pennsylvania we worked, with intention, to address the issue of minors being placed on a registry as our state navigated the response to the serial sexual assaults perpetrated by Gerald Sandusky. Woven into our statute (Title 23, § 6338.1. Expunction of information of perpetrator who was under 18 years of age when child abuse was committed) is specific direction re: expunging the record of a young person who was placed on the registry named as a perpetrator of an indicated report (meaning there was a finding based on the child welfare investigation, medical evidence or a person's admission as opposed to a judicial finding/adjudication). Basically if the young person was under 18 when placed on the registry they then can have their record automatically expunged from the protective services database/registry when they reach the age of 21 "or when five years have elapsed" since the person was added to the database/registry. There are some conditions (i.e., not named as an alleged perpetrator in a pending investigation, not named as a perpetrator in a subsequent report, the offense that led to inclusion on the registry/database didn't involve a deadly weapon, or some serious crimes or adjudication within the juvenile system involving offenses against people, also can't apply if the young person recognized for registration related to a sexual offense requiring some registration). https://www.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/LI/CT/PDF/23/23.PDF Not suggesting it is ideal or spot on, but there was some effort to really recognize the need for some pathway off/beyond the registry for young people. Currently, we are having a similar discussion but related to adults and some tiered approach. Take care, Cathleen Cathleen Palm (she/her/hers) The Center for Children's Justice (C4CJ) www.C4CJ.org 717-215-1440 https://www.facebook.com/centerForChildrensJustice/ https://www.instagram.com/speakup4pakids/ https://twitter.com/speakup4PAkids -----Original Message----- From: bounce-125653652-13606222list.cornell.edu On Behalf Of Lisa Fontes Sent: Thursday, May 20, 2021 8:21 PM To: 'child-maltreatment-research-L ' Subject: Expunging child abuse record of a minor parent Dear colleagues, I am asking for a colleague who is the GAL for a case where a 15 year old abused her young daughter. If CPS substantiates the abuse, she will never be able to work in nursing, childcare, etc, even though she is amenable to learning to become a better mother. Are any of you aware of a state where minor parents can have child abuse records expunged when they turn 18 or 21? Or do you know where to find such info? Thank you. Lisa Fontes PhD.